Old Father Thames

Looking across the estuary     to the Isle of Grain.
Looking across the estuary to the Isle of Grain.
The most powerful energy saving bulb that you can get.
The most powerful energy saving bulb that you can get.
Fresh air?
Fresh air?
"..on her ship , tied to the mast.."
“..on her ship , tied to the mast..”
Spent cockle shells.
Spent cockle shells.

Old Leigh , Leigh-on-Sea. Standing alongside the Thames estuary is the place where I grew up. This morning, an old friend and I went for a plate of cockles and reminisced about the full circle that had turned and thought of the new circle that will begin in my life.  Unfortunately , that’s as prophetic as it got ,  as the conversation turned to the model he has booked for an upcoming lingerie shoot…..

21 thoughts on “Old Father Thames”

  1. Love the sun behind the lamp…. So great! And the water, love the water. I didn’t realize that’s what cockle shells looked like — but then again, all I know of them is from My Fair Lady, hah!

    1. Thank you – and I will be more than happy to treat you to a plate of cockles the next time that you visit the UK! maybe even some jellied eels too! (yuck!) 🙂

      1. As much as I so DEARLY want to visit again…. What is that food? I’ll fall back on my vegetarian diet to use against those jellied eels — hahaha!

    1. Thanks Adrian , not quite as picturesque as Cornwall is it! But it will do for now , there is some beauty and character to be found in these ‘ere parts! and the cockles and rollmops are very tasty! 🙂

      1. I love the Thames Estuary. One of the big plusses for me about living in Islington and working in Woolwich was the ferry ride across the river each day. 🙂

    1. What are customs like in Bolivia? I’ll send you a food parcel of a seafood platter and a stick of rock!(that would be a very smelly parcel!). No need to be homesick , the weather’s crap , the countries overpopulated and it’s bloody expensive , stay where you are! Infact, I’ll come and join you , I need a new hammock… 🙂

      1. It took nearly six weeks for an Xmas card to arrive, I don’t hold out much hope for the seafood platter! On the upside, the sun is shining. Mind you there are some things I’d miss anywhere – the pub at the end of road in Hackney used to do a free seafood cocktail with a pint on Sunday. Can’t beat that.

      1. Oh really? Well I certainly hope you’re doing better with the new situation than Matt is. Thank you for checking it out and for the compliment. It was my first time writing a male character as the lead. I had to stalk some men to study the mannerisms Ha Ha!

    1. Hi Susan! I’m coming over to check out your blog in a bit! I’ve neglected my blog duties for the last week , I’ve been drawing a lot , so now I’ve got to catch up on missed correspondance!
      Scott 🙂

  2. Beautiful pictures and, in its way, I think the Thames Estuary is just as beautiful as Cornwall!

    The lights of Canvey as the sun goes down, Hadleigh Castle against the sky at dusk, centuries of industrial and literary history, wildlife and (accidentally) free-roaming cows… a much closer escape from the city as well than Land’s End!

    Great work 🙂

Leave a Reply

